So I pride myself in not being a lemming. I don’t follow the flock and purchase an I-phone. I didn’t vote for Obama. I don’t buy the same car as everyone else. And I don’t like to read what everyone else is reading, just because it is reportedly “so good” and blah, blah, blah.
For instance, the whole Twilight saga thing has been out for a while. I just didn’t get it. Teenaged vampires? Big whoop. Who cares? I didn’t read the books; I didn’t see the movies; I didn’t even know the names of these goofs.
Then, my sister who hardly reads was reading the book. She said it was sooo good and I just had to read ‘em. I figured, if it got her (who is barely literate) to read a novel, there must be something to it. I had nothing else to read at the time, I figured I could give it a shot.
Well, let me tell you… I read the first novel, Twilight, and was completely hooked. I quickly went through the rest of the series and have been obsessed by Bella and Edward ever since. I could hardly see a Volvo without wondering if Edward was driving. I constantly compared Hubs to Edward and wondered why I married him instead of waiting for my true-love-vampire (just kidding, Darling). The sexual tension in these books was just so… so… ugh… so tense.
I saw the movies and they were okay. Just like every movie, never as good as the book. But I’ll be in line when Breaking Dawn comes out in theaters. Although, I hope I can find one that is adults-only so I don’t have to listen to all the ‘tweens swooning loudly over a shirtless Jacob or mesmerizing Edward. At least us adults have the level of maturity to swoon silently in our heads… I mean, really, have you seen those guys? Hubba-hubba.
Oh, and I’m totally Team Edward. I actually wonder why there even IS a Team Jacob. Although, since I’m fully middle-aged, perhaps I should be Team Charlie, since being infatuated with a teenager (even if he’s an immortal vampire that’s older than my grandmother) is a little creepy.
So, maybe the moral to this lesson is that Lemmings don’t always get it wrong.