Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Factory is Closed!

I recently made a very important, albeit obvious, decision in my life… no more babies.  And on Monday, I took action on that decision.  I burned down the factory and tore up the roads.  Or in medical terms, I had laser ablation surgery and a tubal ligation. 

The laser ablation burns the inside of factory so there will be no more monthly visitors.  (I know… awesome, eh?)

And if that wasn’t enough, tying the tubes make it so the eggs can’t get to the old baby factory – unless they have some very advanced GPS device and find another path.  I can just hear the little ovarian Garmin now saying “recalculating” in her condescending little voice.  But even if those little eggs manage to get to the factory, there will be no place for them to park. 

So, no little sons to ride motorcycles with for Hubs, no more little brothers or sisters for the older ones to pester, no more cribs, no more bottles, no more diapers.  Well, all of this is true until I become a Grandma.  But surely I have years until that happens (right, Boog?).  AND no more hormones for mom!

I even asked Hubs at the hospital if he wanted to reconsider the possibility of having any more kids in the future.  Without hesitation, he said no.  He recommended that if we ever changed our mind (yeah, right), we could adopt.  Good answer, Hubs.

The only scary thing is the “no hormones” part.  Although I’m glad to be going purely natural now… I also have nothing to blame any moodiness, weight gain, facial blemishes, or even chin hairs.  It’s just all me. 

Scary.

A little late…

First and foremost, Merry Christmas to all of my readers!  I’m sorry I neglected to wish it to on Christmas.  But I think I was able to see most, if not all, of my readers in person anyhow.

It’s been a terribly busy holiday season.  I had a neighborhood party, work party, family party… not to mention shopping, decorating and cleaning.  Whew… I’m pooped. 

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and I hope that Santa brought you everything you wished for!

Hoppy Holidays!

Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Please Rise…

So, Weasel was cited for skipping school in October (I know… things have changed a great deal from I was a kid). He received a ticket from the police officer and yesterday was our court date.

We are in there with a bunch of other juveniles; most of them were there for assault or possession of drugs or the like. Great bunch of kiddos, obviously. One of them even claimed she was late because her parole officer didn’t give her the appointment information. Wow, really?

I did not feel like my son’s being caught walking onto campus after skipping school was in the same league as these thugs, but oh well. We waited for an inordinate amount of time for our case to be called. Apparently, they take the repeat offenders first. You would think they would want the worst offenders to have to wait the longest, adding to their pain. But I suppose that just makes too much sense.

The prosecutor told us that the fine for the violation was $69. Weasel had the option of pleading guilty and paying the fine; pleading no contest and going to a class, doing community service AND paying the $69 fine; or go to a jury trial. Um… we’ll just take the fine.

When we finally talked to the judge (about 1 ½ hours into our ordeal), she gave Weasel quite the tongue-lashing. She was downright scary and rude as far as I’m concerned. All of this was excessive considering his offense.  He just skipped a class… and it was GYM! This seems like more of a parental issue anyhow. And she didn’t even seem to notice how handsome or charming Weasel was. To top it all off, she actually raised our fine to $70. Thanks, Your Honor.

I do not think her approach of making the process scary enough to keep Weasel in school was very effective. I left there just angry at the system, not awed by it.

Besides, I think that Weasel is actually more scared of his Mom.

As it should be.

Friday, December 04, 2009

Flakes in Austin

Yes, there are supposed to be flakes in Austin today.  Not just your typical Austin Weird, but actual flakes of snow… which is weird all by itself. 

It has been reported lately that we should expect snow this morning.  I will admit that it is cold outside, but snow?  I can only remember a handful of times that it has actually snowed in Austin.  Even if there are flakes in the air, they rarely make it to the ground and accumulate. 

And really, why couldn’t it have snowed early this morning so that I could have stayed in bed and “worked from home” instead?  Doesn’t Mother Nature know that Austinites freak out when there is anything on the ground.

You can tell by the local news coverage that even the mere possibility of snow is the only thing newsworthy right now.  Even if they discovered a cure for cancer, the snow forecast would still be the lead story.

So, cross your fingers.  If it does indeed snow, I’m making a itty-bitty snowman!  Pictures to be posted later.  Bring on the hot chocolate!

Big Time Now!

I am now officially in the big leagues.  I have my own domain name:  www.viewfromthelilypad.com

Oh yes, I’m big time now. 

Bow accordingly.