I turned the dreaded 40 last week. And basically it was sort of a suck-day. It wasn’t so much about getting older, but more about feeling inconsequential. My day was just a typical Thursday, like any other day. We didn’t celebrate my birthday at work like we do for everyone else. And that evening, I just went to dinner with the family. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t like everyone forgot. It just didn’t feel like the momentous birthday I had anticipated.
Well, all of that changed on Saturday. I spent the day working at the office, then drove Boog around trying to find an apartment for her return to Austin. She was texting “Sam” all day and planned to go out with him that evening. I knew Hubs had something planned, but honestly thought it would be a normal date-night-dinner-and-a-movie.
Boog and I arrived back at home and walked into the house… and a bunch of my friends and family shouted “SURPRISE!” I was literally stunned. I even shed a tear or two.
Apparently, my dear Hubs had planned a party for me all along. It was an amazing surprise! Boog wasn’t texting “Sam,” she was texting Hubs about our ETA. She is quite the little liar… I’m so proud. Apparently Hubs’ surprise went off without a hitch. I had no idea and was truly in the dark.
It was a lot of fun! It feels so good to realize that I’m NOT inconsequential… to my family or my friends. Seems I really do matter! Nice.
