I’ve been doing practically the same job for over twenty years… administrative. This used to be called “secretarial” work, but now it’s much more importantly recognized as “administrative” work. Whatever… I still just do whatever needs to be done for whoever needs to have it done to ensure that the company can keep operating. It’s like being a mom at work to a bunch of babies that never grow up and I’m not allowed to punish. I’m done with that.
I’ve never attended college. I wasn’t ready right out of high school, then got pregnant with Boog not long after. I planned to go at some point, but life had other plans for me… being a single mom doesn’t always allow time to focus on oneself. Then when I had more time, I felt that I was too old to go to college. I thought it was too late for me. My lot in life had been decided and I should just grin and bear it.
Well, now that I’m more clearly immersed in middle-age, I find that I’m NOT too old. I’m hoping to start my college life in the Fall. Cross your fingers. This may be something that seems like a good idea on paper, then turns out to be the opposite. But maybe when it’s all over, I’ll have a brand new career!
Or maybe, I’ll just be a highly educated secretary for another twenty years. Ugh! No, thank you. If that’s not motivation to make this happen, I don’t know what is.