I got a Ferrari a couple of days ago. Well, it wasn’t really a Ferrari, but it was sort of a mid-life crisis thing. I got the top of my ear pierced.
This piercing obviously wasn’t a necessary thing, or even a truly cosmetic thing. Heck, you can hardly see it as my hair typically hangs down over my ears. I suppose I just needed to do something to feel a little younger, to feel a little more alive, and to feel little like I have control over something. So, perhaps it was stupid and perhaps it was painful… but it actually felt good doing it.
When I turned thirty, it really didn’t feel like that big of a deal. I didn’t feel like I was going over any imaginary hill. In fact, I suppose turning thirty made me feel like an official adult. I had my life under control. I didn’t feel old. But turning forty is an entirely different story. I very clearly feel like I’m approaching the top of this particular hill. I feel that inevitability of growing old.
So perhaps my little piercing wasn’t the greatest idea, but I’m very glad that I did it. And now I’m going to start tackling my wardrobe and attempt to stop wearing “mom clothes” and get into something a little more edgy. Who knows, perhaps I’ll have a tattoo before too long!
Oh… and I officially turn forty in May of this year. I am planning to parachute out of an airplane… in my edgy clothes with my new earring and possible tattoo. I want to be the coolest old lady on the block.
Okay...I'm waiting on the provocative pose in the Madonna outfit on the motorcycle. What do you mean you are at the top of the hill...that would mean that I have already jumped off the cliff. I am still middle-aged - that is as long as I live to be 104!
ReplyDeleteWhat do you mean it wasn't a great idea? I think it was an awesome idea and it looks so cute on you! Nothing wrong with being 40 AND cool!
ReplyDelete